House Schedule

About Congress:

A new Congress begins at noon January 3rd of each odd-numbered year following a general election, unless it designates a different day by law. Each Congress lasts for two years, with each year constituting a separate session. The Legislative Reorganization Act of 1970 requires Congress to adjourn sine die (Latin for "without a day") no later than July 31st of each year, unless Congress otherwise provides. In odd-numbered years, the Congress must take an August recess if it fails to adjourn by July 31. Neither the House nor the Senate may adjourn for more than three days (excluding Saturdays, Sundays, and holidays) without the concurrence of the other Chamber.

About the House Schedule:

The schedule in the House of Representatives is determined by the Speaker of the House and the Majority Leader, currently Speaker Nancy Pelosi and Majority Leader Steny Hoyer. Remember, the schedule is always subject to change. You may also be interested to learn more about the schedule, House floor proceedings and other legislative activities on the Office of the Clerk's website.